South African international and Mamelodi Sundowns midfielder Hlompho Kekana is one of the 10 nominees for the FIFA Goal of the Year award, named after the late Hungarian legend Ferenc Puskas.

The winner will be announced at the FIFA Gala on January 9, with Lionel Messi and Neymar also included in the list of nominees for their sublime strikes during the year.

Kekana’s goal came during an Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against Cameroon. The 31-year-old scored a wonderful goal from inside his own half in front of Indomitable Lions fans.

He won possession near the touchline before looking up and having the courage to attempt the unlikely, comfortably beating Cameroon goalkeeper N’Dy Assembé who was off his line with a strike from around 60 metres from the target.

The long-range effort was Kekana’s first goal for Bafana, allowing the South Africans to secure a valuable away point with a 2-2 draw in Yaoundé.

It is unlikely that the South African will win the award, but merely being present among the nominees for the prestigious prize will be a point of pride for the Bafana player.

Fans can vote for the goal to be considered for the final three on the FIFA.

The nominees:

Mario Gaspar (ESP) – 13.11.2015, Spain v. England, international friendly
Hlompho Kekana (RSA) – 26.03.2016, Cameroon v. South Africa, Africa Cup of Nations qualifier
Marlone (BRA) – 21.04.2016, Corinthians v. Cobresal, Copa Libertadores
Lionel Messi (ARG) – 21.06.2016, USA v. Argentina, Copa América Centenario semi-final
Neymar (BRA) – 08.11.2015, Barcelona v. Villarreal, La Liga (Spain)
Saúl Ñíguez (ESP) – 27.04.2016, Atlético Madrid v. Bayern Munich, UEFA Champions League
Hal Robson-Kanu (WAL) – 01.07.2016, Wales v. Belgium, UEFA EURO 2016
Daniuska Rodríguez (VEN) – 14.03.2016, Venezuela v. Colombia, South American U-17 Women’s Football Championship
Simon Skrabb (FIN) – 31.10.2015, Gefle v. Åtvidaberg, Allsvenskan league, Sweden
Mohd Faiz Subri (MAS) – 16.02.2016, Penang v. Pahang, Malaysia Super League