Wizkid and Linda Ikeji go to war again as they compete for MTV Africa Music Awards ‘Personality of the Year’. They last clashed when Ikeji accused Wizkid of not having the cash to back up his flash. They’ll also have to contend with runner Caster Semenya, actress Pearl Thusi and footballer Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang. Trevor Noah is hosting so it should be quite a party.

The Afrobeats star is also in the running for two other awards – Best Male and Best Collaboration (with Dj Maphorisa Ft Dj Bucks on the track Soweto Baby).

Otherwise the nominees are pretty standard – Black Coffee, WizKid, Patoranking, AKA and Diamond Platinumz are in the running for MTV Africa’s ‘Best Male’. For best hip-hop act we have Emtee, Olamide, Ycee, Kiff No Beat, Riky Rick (where are the ladies?). Kenyan band Saudi Sol bagged two nominations – as did AKA and Cassper Nyovest.

You’ll be able to vote for your favourite acts via Google and social media (see here for the instructions) and the winners will be announced at the night on 22 October.

Artist of the year
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best female
Josey (Ivory Coast)
MzVee (Ghana)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best new act
Babes Wodumo (South Africa)
Emtee (South Africa)
Falz (Nigeria)
Franko (Cameroon)
Nasty C (South Africa)
Nathi (South Africa)
Raymond (Tanzania)
Simi (Nigeria)
Tekno (Nigeria)

Best Francophone
Franko (Cameroon)
J-Rio (Gabon)
Magasco (Cameroon)
Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)
Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone
Nelson Freitas
C4 Pedro
Lizha James
Petro Show

Listeners’ choice
Adiouza (Senegal)
Bebe Cool (Uganda)
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Den G (Liberia)
EL (Ghana)
Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)
Jay Rox (Zambia)
Kansoul (Kenya)
Kiss Daniel (Nigeria)
Lij Michael (Ethiopia)
LXG (Sierra Leone)
Meddy (Rwanda)
Messias Marioca (Mozambique)
Prince Kaybee (South Africa)
Reda Taliani (Algeria)
Saad Lamjarred (Morocco)
Sabri Mosbah (Tunisia)
Sidiki Diabate (Mali)
Tamer Hosny (Egypt)
The Dogg (Namibia)
Yamoto Band (Tanzania)

Song of the year
Shaktibobo, Olamide (Nigeria)
Reggae Blues, Harrysongz feat Olamide, Kcee & Iyanya, Orezi (Nigeria)
My Woman, My Everything, Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria)
Godwin, Korede Bello (Nigeria)
Ngud, Kwesta feat. Cassper (South Africa)
Roll Up Re-Up, Emtee feat. Wizkid and AKA (South Africa/Nigeria)
Soweto Baby, DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid (South Africa/Nigeria)
Baddest, AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana, Yanga (South Africa/Nigeria)
Wololo, Babes Wodumo feat. Mampintsha (South Africa)
Coller la Petite, Franko (Cameroon)
Unconditionally bae, Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba (Kenya/Tanzania)

Video of the year
Jump, Anatii & Cassper feat. Nasty C (South Africa) – Director: Kyle Lewis
Caviar Dreams, AL Bairre & PhFAT (South Africa) – Director: Daniel Levi
If I Start to Talk by Tiwa Savage feat. Dr Sid (South Africa) – Director: Clarence Peters
Kisasi Kumi, Sheeba (Uganda) – Director: Sasha Vybz
Niquer Ma Vie, Youssoupha (Congo) – Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon

Best international act

Best male
Wizkid (Nigeria)
AKA (South Africa)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Best live act
Flavour (Nigeria)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)

Best group
R2Bees (Ghana)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Toofan (Togo)
Navy Kenzo (Tanzania)
Mi Casa (South Africa)

Best pop and alternative
Desmond & The Tutus
kyle deutsch & shekhinah

Best hip hop
Olamide (Nigeria)
Kiff No Beat (Ivory Coast)
Ycee (Nigeria)
Emtee (South Africa)
Ricky Rick (South Africa)

Best collab
Patoranking ft. Sarkodie – No Kissing
Sauti Sol ft. Alikiba – Unconditionally Bae
AkA ft. Burna Boy,Khuli Chana & Yanga – Baddest
Dj Maphorsia ft. Wizkid & Dj Buckz – Soweto Baby
Nasty c ft. Davido & Cassper Nyovest – Juice Back Remix

Personality of the year
Linda Ikeji
Caster Semenya
Pearl Thusi
Pierre Emerick Aubameyang