In a stunning move that has confused many Premier Soccer League fans, Kaizer Chiefs have decided to part ways with 20 of the players who were on their books last season.

The Amakhosi have plans to completely revamp the squad ahead of the 2016-17 season, and they have begun the restructure by announcing the release of seven players, while a handful of footballers will not have their contracts renewed, and others have been put on the transfer list.

Large scale signings will need to take place during this off season to ensure that Naturena is not left looking like a ghost town, as so many individuals make their way out the door at Chiefs.

Players who have now been released include Siboniso Gaxa © Getty

Reneilwe Letsholonyane joined Supersport United recently, beginning the exodus of players from the club, while defender Keegan Ritchie is also on his way to SuperSport in a swap deal that will see Sibusiso Khumalo joining the Soweto Giants.

Chiefs veterans Morgan Gould and Siboniso Gaxa are now free agents, as their contracts will not be extended.

The below players will no longer be at the club come the 2016-17 season:

Contract not extended: Siboniso Gaxa, Morgan Gould, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Reyaad Pieterse, Keegan Ritchie.

Contract released: Philani Cele, Levy Mokgothu, Simphiwe Mtsweni, Shandukani Mulovhedzi, Chris Matombo, Zitha Macheke, Ovidy Karuru

Transfer listed: Ivan Bukenya, Siyanda Xulu, Bongani Ndulula, Edward Manqele, Siphelele Mthembu, Sula Matovu

Sent on loan: David Zulu, Andisiwe Mtsila