Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has been named player of the year in Germany’s top football league.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang during the UEFA Europa League quarter final, second leg match between Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund on April 14, 2016 © Clive Brunskill/Getty

Receiving the honour from his fellow players in the Bundesliga, Aubameyang received 19.7 per cent of the votes allowing him to win the title. He beat FC Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski to the title by 0.2 per cent whilst third place went to Aubameyang’s teammate Henrikh Mkhitaryan.

Robert Lewandowski holds captain's sign during the international friendly soccer match between Poland and Serbia on March 23, 2016 in Poland © Adam Nurkiewicz/Getty

The Gabon International player has had an excellent season in the Bundesliga but there have been rumours of a potential move to England’s Premier League next season.