Seven Africans are in the running for the IAAF’s Athlete of the Year and you could help them to victory.

Fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social-media platforms – likes and favourites on Twitter and Facebook count as a vote. So who should you vote for?

It’s going to be a tight race. The achievements of all of these athletes are remarkable. Read on…

24-year-old Ethiopian Almaz Ayana set a new 10,000 metres world record, which had stood since 1993, when she won gold at this year’s Olympics. The Kenyan Vivian Cheruiyot also set a new Olympic record in 5000m event this year. They go up against another Olympic gold medal winner Caster Semenya.

The Kenyan marathon runner Eliud Kipchoge is the current Olympic champion and winner of the London Marathon. Another Kenyan, the 3000-metre steeplechase competitor Conseslus Kipruto is another Olympic champion – he produced the five fastest performances of the year – and he is only 21 years old.

David Rudisha is the 2012 and 2016 Olympic champion, world champion and world record holder in the 800 metres and has already won the IAAF Athlete of the Year award in 2010. South African Wayde van Niekerk is the current world record holder, world champion and Olympic champion in the 400 metres.

They’ll be going head to head with greats like Usain Bolt and Mo Farah.

The vote is split between the IAAF Council (50 per cent) with the IAAF Family and the public sharing the rest. Voting for six shortlisted athletes closes on 1 November and the male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Awards Night  on Friday 2 December 2016..

Usain Bolt (JAM)
Thiago Braz da Silva (BRA)
Ashton Eaton (USA)
Mo Farah (GBR)
Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)
Conseslus Kipruto (KEN)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
David Rudisha (KEN)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)

Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Ruth Beitia (ESP)
Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN)
Kendra Harrison (USA)
Caterine Ibarguen (COL)
Ruth Jebet (BRN)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Elaine Thompson (JAM)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)